Skip to content

Stencil Fail

January 17, 2010

So I got the design bug about a year ago. I used to just decorate, now I wanted to DESIGN.

Our master bathroom was dismal. Off white walls with dingy white plastic shower, even the lighting was making the room look a dingy yellowy white. Gross. When we got married I registered for green & beige towels & bath rugs. The pops of green spruced it up a bit. But now I wanted to paint!

So…I did some Etsy shopping, and I found and fell in love with this:

And then this one was even the colors I was going for:

But I wasn’t going to pay $40 for a sticker to go on a wall! I’m a painter, I can paint that!

I knew Rob was not going to like how busy the above decals were, so I found this one, just a simple branch with a couple birdies and some flying birds (leaving out the second branch w/ the bird house):

The plan was to paint the wall a dark chocolate brown, and then have the branch be the same green as our towels, coming out from the door frame. Simple, chic, pretty.

So I decided to stencil it. I have never stenciled in my life, but how hard can it be? I hit up Joann and Michaels and all the other crafty stores I could find to find stencil paper, but the sheets were always too small. My project was going to cover about three feet, and I was at a loss for stiff stencil paper. So I improvised and came up with a great idea to use poster board (shut up).

I bought an old school overhead projector on craigslist, and projected the branch onto the poster board and traced it, cut it out with an X-acto knife, and was all ready to paint.

I learned a trick with stenciling, that you first paint the stencil with the same color as on the wall, let it dry, then paint the final color over that. That way, there’s no bleeding because any bleeding that would have happened did happen with the first coat of the wall color, which doesn’t show up.  Easy.

Then the whole poster board fiasco.

Okay, so it’s paper, it gets wet. Paint gets it wet. Paint dries, making paper stick to paint and then you have a clusterfuck of paper and paint and retarded birds:

The branch (I was going to hand paint in the extra branches).

Close up of the fuckery.

The retarded bird-ish things in the shower

The asshat bird sitting (looks like he’s shitting) on the mirror.

And the stencil when I was done tearing it from the walls in a 30-year old hissy fit.

FAIL. Now I have to  sand down my stencil job and repaint the walls.

And go buy one of the decals.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    January 17, 2010 7:16 pm

    I shouldn’t laugh. I shouldn’t. But… HA HA HA HA HA!!!!! What a giant pain in the ass!

  2. bennettwilliams permalink
    January 19, 2010 1:09 am

    But at least you have a projector out of it! I totally want one of those. I’m not sure what for but I know it would come in handy.

  3. Dana Marie permalink
    February 21, 2012 8:15 am

    Thanks so much for sharing!!! You saved me alot of work!!! I could kiss your feet!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Stencil FTW « Lazy Susan's World of Finery & Frippery

Leave a Reply

