Skip to content

Murder to the Eyes

March 31, 2010

So I’m a receiver of furniture hand me downs. I’ve rarely bought new furniture, and if I have, it’s from Ikea, so it’s basically crap with a decent facade. Our dear dear friends Jon & Becky had a bedroom set that was sitting in their garage for years, and we needed one, so we got it. Jon said he very well may have been conceived near the headboard, so first off, GROSS, and second, it’s fucking OLD- and not the good old, but the tacky 70s old.  From day one I’ve been trying to see it as what it COULD BE not what it was…hideous.

I have now become used to just ignoring it. It’s just part of the room. But my bedroom is my least favorite room…probably because of these monstrosities. So I’ve been spending a lot of time on style blogs, looking at people turn ugly furniture into great pieces that look classy. Wishful thinking.

I contacted Jenny from MFAMB, who is really great at seeing thru the mess. Here is her reply:

“For fucks sake Susan I am ALL for making ugly look pretty but that. thing. is. murdering my eyes!!!!!!!!!!!! That is just bad design. I mean even IF you were going to sand it and paint it all, that process would take for-ev-er. Its a beast! Now my guess is it would cost you around $150 bucks for the amount of primer, paint and supplies you would need to change that thing. And then it would be really hard to do bc it’s so big and cumbersome.

Nope throw that m effer as far as you can away from your house. Use that 150 to find something more your style on craigslist.”

She’s right, it’s a lost cause.

**UPDATE**

I chucked the big clunky mirror/shelf monstrosity into the garage, which opened up a bunch of empty wall. I have fallen in love with the eclectic mixture of frames & various other decorative trinkets being thrown on a wall:

This last bathroom = my dream. I could spend all day in here.

I gave it a try, and it’s alright. It’s not done, the pictures within the frames are going to be changed, it’s just what I had on hand, and it’s still missing one item…it’ll look much better as soon as I decide what’s going to go there. The main problem is that the wall is still white. If I really wanted it to be amazeballs, I might paint it a bright buttery yellow…but we’re only in our house for less than a year now, and I’m not sure it’s worth my effort. In any case, it’s much better than poo colored clunky shelving:

Any recommendations?

**Use of the word “AMAZEBALLS” on loan from Jenny**

(it’s too good of a word not to spread around)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 6:49 am

    her response just made my day. i may start emailing her hideous things i don’t even own, just to get funny responses.

  2. Adriane permalink
    April 3, 2010 9:34 am

    We’ve been using amazeballs around drugstore.com courtesy of our friend Alexis in Merchandising. It IS an awesome word.

  3. rob permalink
    April 2, 2010 7:48 pm

    I have a recommendation… take it all down.

Leave a Reply

