Skip to content

Susan, Dancing Queen

June 1, 2010

I am not a dancer. I can pretend when I’m drunk, but I, in no way, am a dancer.

But today I danced. In public. In front of a hundred or so people. I have performance anxiety, and get the nervous shrotzkas, yet I still performed.

There’s a new “craze” called Flash Mobs. Most of my friends have heard of them, but for those who haven’t, it’s when a large group of people spontaneously burst into song & dance (more the dance, the song is over speakers), just like in a musical. I have been mesmerized by the videos, which I’ll share a few.

This is, as far as I know, the first, if not one of the first Flash Mobs to hit the Internet Kingdom. It’s magical.

It seriously makes me cry. I don’t know why.

This is the Seattle Flash Mob group doing it’s thing in Pioneer Square, right outside my husband’s work. He unfortunately was not there.

The best part of these flash mobs is the reactions from the crowd, especially when people they were standing next to just join in. My favorites are business people, old people, fat people, kids, and the type of person you think would never ever join a group of dancing people (ie. a pissed-off looking guy smoking a cigarette in the Michael Jackson one above). I was trying to come up with a good person to dress up as, but I don’t own a suit, don’t want to dress like a bum, and don’t consider myself “fat” or a “child.”

I do, however, have a recovering broken leg (which thankfully let me put it thru some stress the past week), and a walking cast that I used to use. So I decided to use my boot for the dance, since it was at a Hospital, I totally fit in. Ready?

….drumroll….

Here is MY debut in a flash mob, here in Seattle. Swedish Medical Hospital celebrated it’s 100th Anniversary today, and to commemorate, they asked all staff that could attend to come to a location for a group photo. These people sat for their photos, completely unaware of the madness that was about to ensue…

Did you see me? No? Yeah not so much….I saw me for about 3 seconds in the top right. Bad angle for me, thank god! Rob got a video from another angle that you can see me better, with some before and after dialogue.

And…..after tomorrow I won’t be dancing OR walking for awhile. Wish me luck in my ankle surgery! Fingers crossed they don’t have to RE-break my leg 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheryll permalink
    June 1, 2010 11:04 pm

    Loved it! Wish I could have been there in person!
    I watched the Belgian one again and got goosebumps!
    See you tomorrow before surgery!

  2. Lori permalink
    June 4, 2010 8:35 pm

    Awesome Susan! I loved it! This is so cool. My daughters want in! They want to plan one. How do you do it?

Leave a Reply

