Skip to content

Sewing Susan

June 16, 2010

So I’ve been MIA for many reasons, or excuses, because I went and had some kinda sorta “elective” (in that the timing was elective) surgery to fix my broken ankle. Why I chose June, I don’t know.

My new surgeon had to re-break my already healed ankle fracture because “It looked like the Gulf of Mexico in there,” which was lost on me because I don’t watch the news for a reason. Basically, my ankle was BAD. So he fixed it, but that meant rebreaking it. Suck.

My Horrendous Scar Before

I know, it’s nasty. So are my paper thin pale legs that you can see thru. The after is much better, but its still healing and that’s kinda gross so I won’t subject you to MORE grossness.

So now I’m in a boot, on a scooter, and pretty much at the mercy of the kind people around me to bus me around and take me to do all the things I need to do. And then there’s this art festival…

And I chose the beginning of June, three weeks before ARTOPIA. I decided to become immobile 3 weeks before the biggest event I’ve ever taken part in for my artwork. WTF, Susan? My Mom and Husband keep telling me that I can just sit and talk to people about my artwork, pricing, etc…but that blows a cheetah’s dick if you ask me. They are expecting a turnout of 7500 people this year. Fuuuck. And now my excitement over “yay more business” has become more like “crap, now I have to have more orders” kinda mentality. I don’t like my mentality right now.

If you can’t tell, I’m kind of a in a woe-is-me funk. Sorry about that. I’m also PMSing so f-that too.

I also started sewing.

And selling my little cell phone pouches in my Etsy shop. I found out about two seconds ago that my Goldfish Pouch was featured on a collection page or something, not sure what that means, but yay I guess.

The nice thing about taking up sewing is that it keeps me busy, and keeps my Mom busy taking me places to buy fabric and help me troubleshoot. The bad part is when I am having a bad day (yesterday) and decide to try to make something new (checkbook cover). Something simple…FUCK YOU CHECKBOOK COVER I didn’t want you anyway. Major fail on that one.

I think I’m going to go take a nap already and try to get in a better mood. And then fix the checkbook  cover. And maybe make a patchwork plastic  bag holder.

Holy shit I’m turning into my aunt.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Adriane permalink
    June 17, 2010 1:26 pm

    Awww, I hope you are feeling better, sissy! I am totally going to Artopia, so if you need any help at all – ANY – you just let me know!

Leave a Reply

