Skip to content

Craft Uprising

July 13, 2010

So I’m stuck at home with a broken leg. Actually, I can drive, so I’m not completely stuck, but for the most part, I’m at home and bored out of my Goddamn mind.

Enter crafts.

I make jewelry, and I have for over a year now. I don’t have a style, I just make what I think other people want, and hope people will buy it. So far, this has worked for me. Now, however, I’m starting to get that “f you, i make what i want” attitude and just making what I want to make. Enter Lola the skeleton girl:

I think she’s just flat out gorgeous. I really didn’t think that many people would buy this jewelry, but holy shit! It sold out so fast! I sold them at my booth at a local arts festival, Artopia in Seattle.

The best part is WHO bought them. Mostly old ladies. Seriously. A couple normal skull wearing types, but one middle aged lady with a canvas tote with kittens on it bought 3 pieces. It was crazy.

So now I’m thinking about making Lola my signature piece and just making other jewelry to supplement it, as needed. Except I also bought this cameo, which is wicked awesome:

Speaking of Octopus-ses, Octopi, what the f ever you call multiple octopusses, shit. I’m getting a new tattoo this week. Right now I have a mermaid on my right foot, and now she will have a pretty Octo-lady friend on my left foot.

Isn’t she AMAZING?! She won’t look exactly like that since it has to fit on my foot, and I may have wide flat feet, but I don’t have Yeti feet. So she’ll be a little more compact, but beautiful nonetheless.

BACK TO CRAFTING

The first craft I took up since the leg break was making cell phone pouches. I know I already blogged about my foray into sewing, but whatever. Listen to it more. So what actually happened was that I bought a pouch from an Etsy shop, got it, it didn’t fit my phone. Balls. So I ripped it apart, figured out how she sewed it, and made one Droid size. And now that’s what I’m making, Motorola Droid sized cell phone pouches.

I’m trying to use really rad fabrics, not just flowers and shit. I do have some flowers and shit, but mostly cool stuff. Like camping pinup girls.

And my favorite, Day of the Dead. Again, the skull thing…I had two older ladies buy these pouches at the festival, then my MOTHER IN LAW, who is (in no disrespect) kinda yuppy, chose a Day of the Dead pouch for her new Droid. LOVE IT! I’m spreading the dead!

So then I had all this scrap fabric and needed something small to make. Enter coffee coozies. First off, I never thought I’d own a glass coffee cup mug, let alone with a homemade coozy on it. Now I own both, and make the latter.

I really didn’t think it was anything but practice, but now people are ordering them, so shit…gotta get better at top stitching, whatever.

And NOW I’m making laptop bags. My husband needed one for his new laptop, so I made him the cell phone pouch only bigger, and it works just great. I’ve tweaked his pattern and made one for my laptop, and it’s pretty rad, if I do say so myself.

And I do say so myself, because it’s good to have faith in yourself and love what you do, so yeah, my shit is awesome. And now a ton of people are going to see it, because I’m doing a giveaway in August thru a popular giveaway blog. I’ve been loading up my Etsy shop with as much shit as I can cram in and have it still look good.

So here’s my dilemma. I make like a gazillion things. Okay, four things, maybe five. Is it ok to have all the different things in one Etsy shop? Or should I have one for sewing, one for jewelry, one for my artwork, etc? It’s too much work to have two shops now, so I really don’t want more than that. But does it look jumbled, messy…? Go check it out and tell me: Lazy Susan’s Finery & Frippery.

And to end my rant, here is a picture of a kitten, and a link to Meowmania. Enjoy!

Try not to poop from the cuteness.

Kisses!

Susan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

